Spring Project Time!

This week as I sat in my living room floor staring at Freddie’s furniture projects, my mounds of work work and frustrating GIS homework, all I wanted to do was find some fun escape. Maybe I could color. Maybe I could watch 20 youtube videos in a row. Maybe I could organize my closet by color and sleeve length.

While all of those things are fun for a moment, I wanted something that would last… like a club to join or a project that was strictly for fun having rather than money making or degree getting.

One morning as I ran my normal blog rounds, I found it. Spring Project #1, that will probably take me 12.5 springs. My great grandma Myrtle quilts. She is fantastic and I sleep with the quilt she made me nearly every night. Quilts can be very fun and dear, and I hear the process is therapeutic, and sometimes frustrating. But, if I can sit down every night and devote a little time to something that could be so exciting to complete, I believe it is worth it.

I have not, however, sewn a single button onto a single piece of clothing in my life. I am illiterate when it comes to the world of needles and patchwork. It wouldn’t hurt to give it a shot though.

First I will need this (which could be a project on its own):

DIY Sewing Table

Then I will attempt to do this:

pick my colors and fabric

Work feverishly with friends

Bammmm - Quilt.

The quilt above is the goal I am working towards. You can find out how to make this quilt, and many other fun things here.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Spring Project Time!

  1. Brandy says:

    I think this is precious! My great-grandmother was a quilter, too. I have several quilts that she made and I cherish all of them. I used to have an old sewing table very similar to the one in the picture that I used as a vanity, but threw it out during my de-cluttering when I moved to Cincinnati and had to cut my living space in half. Sometimes I wish I had kept it. Good luck on your project! I’m excited to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

