Watch parade, eat, DECORATE

Thanksgiving is so great. Yes there is food, family and the Macy’s parade, but there is also the exciting unspoken permission to go decorating crazy for the next big holiday. Here are a few of my favorite decorating ideas this year.

This first spectacle isn’t necessarily a holiday decoration, but for some reason the picture below strikes a sense of holiday mystery and wonder that I want present this time of year. Burniture

Burniture

Gingerbread houses are always fun to decorate and decorate with. This is a very traditional project that allows for supreme creativity and modern-day spins. I want to take a stab at this idea (mainly because of my boyfriend’s passion for mid-century modern).

MCM Gingerbread House

Gumdrops, coconut, tiny Eames

I am always a fan of DIY decorating projects, I rarely engage in any, but I like it when others do. I plan on tackling a few of these this weekend. They seem easy enough for the craft challenged human, such as myself. I may have to call on Kalie Templin for some of her craftiness and expertise.

Paper Ornaments

This DIY tree stand may be the sexiest Christmas installation of all time.

Step 1 - Find a lumberjack

Step 2 - Have lumberjack bring you tree stump

Step 3 - Lumberjack sets up tree stand

Step 4 - Decorate tree with lumberjack

3 thoughts on “Watch parade, eat, DECORATE

  1. Brandy B says:

    Speaking of mid-century modern…East Walnut Hills is a wonderfully historic Cincinnati neighborhood with one house that looks as though it has been plucked up from the 1950s and set amongst all of the 19th century victorian/colonial style homes that surround it. It’s so odd, that it’s fantastic and I walk by it all the time just to look at it. In other news…surprisingly, I’m not in the decorating mood this year. I may go “minimalist” this season.

  2. rachellaine says:

    Brandy Burnell isn’t decorating this year?! That is absurd! But, I am not either… aside from a small handtowel and a stocking or two. I am going to have to come to Cinci one of these days so you can show me the cool things your city has to offer aside from chili and German beer 🙂

  3. Brandy B says:

    I love the Nati at this time of year. It’s short on lumberjacks, though. 🙂 One of my favorite places, 20th Century Theater, is having a big party tonight…they are lighting the tower for the first time in 30 years, then showing The Wizard of Oz on the big screen. How exciting!

    P.S. Ima Dork.

Leave a Reply

